Fauna Data Manager Pricing

Hi all, I’m new to Fauna and am researching if it would be a good fit for a new project I am starting.

I have a need to provide exports of entire collections for use as backups periodically. Rather than loop through all of the records in a pagination/get query, it seems like I could just use FDM to export the entire collection to a JSON file.

My question is if doing that is the best practice, and also how it would be impacted by billing? I don’t want to incur millions of reads every time I want to export all of the records.

Similarly, I would need the ability to import large collections from time to time (again, possibly millions of documents). If I use FDM, would I be charged for a write for each document?

I couldn’t find anywhere in the documentation that outline how FDM imports and exports are billed in terms of reads and writes.

4 Likes

Everything is (currently) billed as if you were a client, because under the hood, FDM is just using the client interface. How often will you be backing up? Currently backing up a million docs will cost you $0.50.

Thanks for your answer Ben. So it sounds like FDM actually just uses reads/writes for each document being imported/exported, correct? In my case, I am moving from an existing system with a lot of data over to Fauna.

So, for example, if I have 250 million records to import, that would cost about $500 for the initial import?

And then if I am doing daily backups, would that be a read operation for each record as well? That seems like it would cost about $125 a day just for backups.

This looks accurate to me. You could probably chop down your dailies significantly by using some kind of temporal index. I think for projects with these kind of volumes we need dedicated tooling. I see you’ve been chatting with @summer on slack, so this will bubble back up to the right people I’m sure.