Client direct connection with fine-grained permissions

Hi,
I’m just getting started with Fauna. I have a purely public web application that is currently fetching some data from a Fauna database via Netlify serverless function calls. I’m thinking I could improve performance by having the client code access the Fauna database directly (the function calls take only a few hundredths of a second, but fetching via Netlify is taking about a half-second).

I think I can do this by creating a custom role ‘anyone’, with fine-grained execute permissions on a handful of Fauna functions (which only return data), then just make the secret for the ‘anyone’ role stored on the server and loaded into memory on the client side so it could get an instance of the faunadb client.

I suppose that the secret for the ‘anyone’ role would be exposed, say in the web dev tools debugger, but since it would have such limited access, I don’t see a security risk. I don’t see a need for keys or tokens in this case. Does that make sense – or am I missing something?

Thanks!

Hi @troutshorty, welcome to the forums!

This makes total sense. Depending on what you need from the database, you can simply provide the permissions in the anyone Role to read the necessary Collections, Indexes, and Functions.

In our examples, we make use of public keys which only have access to certain things:

• read public Documents
  • call the login or register Functions
  • etc.

This sample app is designed to work without a backend. While it does introduces user authentication, it also has a public Role for keys that are shared directly in the app for everyone.