Get documents if field doesn't exists

Folks, I’ve been trying to get all fields for my messages that haven’t been read yet (so I can display how many messages are new).
I’m using this query:

Sum(
  Map(
    Paginate(Documents(Collection('messages'))),
    Lambda((x) =>  If(ContainsField('readAt', Select('data', Get(x))), 0, 1))
  )
)

It does the trick, but isn’t there any better solution to do so?
As you can tell, I’m new to FQL.

Thanks in advance!

Since the values you are summing are either 0 or 1, you could perhaps filter and use the Count function. The most efficient way to filter would be with an Index. Filter is an option, but would require a full scan of the Collection (similar to your example).

We can create an Index that sorts your messages Collection by the readAt field. For those Documents that do not have a readAt field, the value will be null. null values are sorted last, per Fauna’s type precedence. We can use that to only search for the null values.

IMPORTANT: this will work because our Index has defined multiple values. If all of an Index’s entries terms or values resolve to null, then no entry will be created. This is one reason we also add the Document’s Ref as a value.

Example Index

CreateIndex({
  name: "messages__readAt_asc",
  source: Collection("messages"),
  // no terms required
  values: [
    { field: ["data", "readAt"] },
    { field: ["ref"] }
  ]
})

Using the Index

Now we can query for all messages without a readAt field. We use the Range function to start reading the Index at null values.

Paginate(
  Range(
    Match(Index("messages__readAt")), 
    null, 
    []
  )
)

// example result
{
  data: [
    [null, Ref(Collection("messages"), "328373908847722562")],
    [null, Ref(Collection("messages"), "328373912910954562")]
  ]
}

If we want to simply know how many there are, then you can use Count.

Count(
  Range(
    Match(Index("messages__readAt")), 
    null, 
    []
  )
)

// example result

Additional Notes