Reference vs Custom Key

Hi! I’m new to Fauna, and currently trying to wrap my head around a few concepts. The one that has bugging me the most, is what the best practice is when it comes to relationships. On a sample project, we have one collection with invoices, and another with users.

Now, the question is:
When looking up data, should I do that via an index which grabs the user_id from the invoice, or should this be done via the ref of the user, which is stored on the user_ref field?
The second approach seems safer, however then I have to use a function which converts the input from the query parameter to the ref of the user id, and then uses an index by refs.
This seems like an extra overhead, and extra operations, thus extra time and cost.

What’s the best-practice here?

Mind throwing in some sample user and invoice data so we can suggest you without assumptions. By the way, here is a good blog which explains Relations in Fauna.

Hey Jay, of course! Thank you in advance!

We will likely max out at 250 client records, probably many fewer. If it would be something along the line of 2500+, I know it would logically be better to go by ref to avoid duplication.

User

{
  "ref": Ref(Collection("customers"), "281897901352813061"),
  "ts": 1605097638502000,
  "data": {
    "first_name": "Julian",
    "last_name": "Engel",
    "company_name": "Julian Engel",
    "email": "julian@email.com",
    "phone": "+35 77 77 77 77",
    "address": {
      "street": "Some Street ",
      "city": "Limassol",
      "country": "Cyprus",
      "post_code": "1234",
      "office": "14"
    },
    "user_id": "jengel",
    "vat": "00000",
    "updated_at": {
      "$date": "2019-11-17T11:56:00.399Z"
    },
    "created_at": {
      "$date": "2019-11-17T11:56:00.399Z"
    },
    "stripe_id": "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx"
  }
}

and a sample invoice for me:

{
  "ref": Ref(Collection("invoices"), "281899666372564485"),
  "ts": 1605103227464400,
  "data": {
    "status": "PAID",