After authentication how to change the key or role?

Hi, I’m new to faunadb and started with some simple tutorials. But now I got stuck… I achieved to create a collection with users and authenticate them. I did this with a GUEST key and a GUEST role, that have only rights for the loginFn

Query(
  Lambda(["data"], {
    response: Login(
      Match(Index("user_by_email"), Select("eMail", Var("data"))),
      { password: Select("password", Var("data")) }
    )
  })
)

const faunaClient = new faunadb.Client({
  secret: 'FAUNA_GUEST_KEY',
})

return await faunaClient
      .query(q.Call(q.Function('login_user'), { eMail, password }))
      .then(({ response }) => {
        console.log(response) // I get a secret
      })

After authentication the user should get more rights, like creating an item in a collection.

I created for that another role “loggedIn”: Then I created a new key “FAUNA_LOOGEDIN_KEY” with the role “loogedIn”. But how can I change the current secret “FAUNA_GUEST_KEY” with the “FAUNA_LOOGEDIN_KEY”? Or is the secret from the response my new key and I don’t need to create a separate “FAUNA_LOOGEDIN_KEY”? But the question is the same how can I update the secret?

And if I need to use the secret from the response how can I link it to the role “loggedIn” or where I have to define an UDF that the role can get applied to that secret?

gregor

Hi @gregor and welcome!

Once you issue Login() with the right password for the user, you get back a secret.
You can then use this secret to login as the user.

To grant privileges to users, you have to create a role as documented here.

To access the database as a user, you have to create a new connection with the key returned by the Login() function.

Roles are linked to users (documents) through the membership field in role.

CreateRole({
  name: "access_todos",
  membership: [
    { 
        resource: Collection("users") 
    }
  ],
  privileges: [{
    resource: Collection("todos"),
    actions: {