Authenticated user doesn't have permission to create documents

Hello, I am new to Fauna DB, and have a million noob questions, so apologies.

I want to create a site where users can register, login, and then CRUD their own documents, whilst not having access to docs created by other users.

The problem is I am struggling to make sense of user access when authenticated, and I cannot create or read any data when logged in.

This is what I have so far, which to the best of my knowledge is how to do things.

FYI I am doing this in javascript.

1 - Connect to the DB using my global secret key

import faunadb from 'faunadb';
const q = faunadb.query;
const client = new faunadb.Client({ secret: process.env.REACT_APP_FAUNA_KEY });

2 - The user logs in, and I save their secret key

.query(q.Login(q.Match(q.Index('users_by_email'), 'me@me.com'), { password: 'password' }))
  .then((res) => {
    userSecret = res.secret
  })

3 - Create a new connection using the user’s secret key

userClient = new faunadb.Client({ secret: userSecret });

4 - Try to create a new document

userClient
.query(q.Create(q.Collection('notes'), { data: { testData: 'test data' } }))

At this point, I get a permission denied error:

Insufficient privileges to perform the action.

I understand that the user doesn’t have permission to create documents here, and I’ve been through the ABAC tutorial using the shell, but I can’t figure out how to grant permissions for a user.

Do I need to somehow pass a user id when creating a document?
Do I need to change permission on the database or collection?

And a more “best-practice” question, am I going about this the right way - i.e. would multiple users actually store their data in one single collection, or should I be creating a database or collection per user?

Thanks for your help!

The Token you received with Login function() does not have enough previleges to create a document. To address this, you need to create a Role and attach it to a Membership .