Found 359 reads for my account which has 1 database with 1 collection with 2 documents and 2 indexes - what is going on here?

Hi there,

Today I started learning FaunaDB and I created 1 database, in it I have 1 collection, and in this collection I have 2 documents. With regards to Indexes, I have 2 indexes, one of them is to return all users, and the other index is to search for a user by FirstName.

Basically 1 Users collection and it contains 2 users, each user has about 8 fields/data-records in it like FirstName, LastName, etc

However, after I logged in after a couple of hours, I found 359 reads in my dashboard!

How did these 359 reads come to be? I don’t have any application connected to FaunaDB or making use of my database. The database is purely for me to learn with it and test our FaunaDB - so from where did 359 reads come from I wonder? cause this is crazy.

Imagine I had more collections and documents, my reads would easily surpass the limits of FaunaDB and I would be charged a ton of money.

Is this a bug? Is this some algorithm to add and accumulate more reads on a user’s account? What is wrong here cause it doesn’t make sense and it doesn’t add up.

I have the simplest form of database and I’m the single user and only used it once so far, yet it somehow accumulated 359 reads which is ridiculous !

I would appreciate your help please

Thank you in advance

1 Like

Now it is 4 hours after I posted the above AND NOW there are 889 reads! I’m not using the database…what the heck is wrong here? Can you kindly investigate this?

@salibaray navigating through the dashboard will create a good handful of reads every time you refresh, navigate to a different page, or at other times to make the dashboard function. The dashboard uses the javascript driver to query your database just as your application does, and those operations appear in your total operations.